Clerk to the Governing Body: Mrs Alison Duncalf

To contact the governors, please, in the first instance email

Sandymoor Ormiston Academy Governing Body

The Governing Body is responsible for the following:

Establishing the strategic direction, by:

  • Setting the vision, values, and objectives for the school
  • Agreeing the school improvement strategy with priorities and targets
  • Meeting statutory duties

Ensuring accountability, by:

  • Appointing the headteacher
  • Monitoring progress towards targets
  • Performance managing the headteacher
  • Engaging with stakeholders
  • Contributing to school self-evaluation

Ensuring financial probity, by:

  • Setting the budget
  • Monitoring spending against the budget
  • Ensuring value for money is obtained
  • Ensuring risks to the organisation are managed

The Academy Board is made up of the following founding members who are responsible for the appointment of Governors to the board that ensure that it has the capabilities and capacity required to undertake its role:

Richard Eastburn
Andrew Lockyer
Bryan Jones
Jo Wakefield

The Academy Board has appointed the following members to the board

Simon Hurst (Governor)
Nevin Deakin (Governor)

Governor Register of Interests

Founding Governors

Mr Bryan Jones

Chair of Governors

Mrs Jo Wakefield

Vice Chair

Mr Andrew Lockyer

Founding Governor

Mr Richard Eastburn

Founding Governor


Mr Simon Hurst


Mrs Nevin Deakin